Chipmunks and Aliens and Frogs, Oh My!

I am a somewhat recent Mac convert – and by recent, I mean that I have owned my MacBook for almost a year.  As with any new piece of technology, new or new to me, I enjoy thoroughly exploring all that it has to offer.  In the case of a new computer, this is done through testing out each included program and learning about its every feature and capability.  This is how I stumbled across the Photo Booth program that came standard in my new laptop.  Photo Booth is a program that allows the user to take pictures or video footage of themselves (or anyone in front of that computer’s webcam) using different picture styles, distortions, or backgrounds.  Photos can be saved with or without effects – a helpful option to use should the “photographer” change their mind about using a distortion.  The user can also import their own picture or video file to use as a backdrop for their “photo shoot”, or they can use the backgrounds provided that come standard with the program.  Finished products can be shared via email, used as an account picture or iChat icon, or sent to iPhoto for further editing.

After today, I can honestly say that I feel more like a pro at using this particular program.  When staring at each other and making silly faces got old, my nephews and I decided to instead stare and make silly faces at my webcam while playing with various Photo Booth features.  The “chipmunk”, “space alien”, and “frog” distortions had, by far, the most amusing outcomes, while the “light tunnel” distortion and included “sky background” were the most popular with my nephews.  All in all, thirty-four pictures were saved, and more than a few of them will be sent to the boys’ father to keep with him at his Army platoon’s basic training site.  Photo Booth is both a useful photo and video taking program, as well as an easy way to spend an enjoyable time with one’s family.  Thanks for the new memories,  MacBook!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shawnta Trego
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 12:28:02

    Hello.This article was extremely motivating, particularly since I was browsing for thoughts on this topic last couple of days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

