Memoirs of A Mac Addict (Or, The Transformation of A PC iNto A Mac)

One of the reasons I created this blog last year – in addition to giving myself a creative outlet – was to practice my technical writing skills.  So far, I have only succeeded at this particular goal seven out of fifteen posts…definitely not the ratio I was aiming for.  To remedy this, I have decided to dedicate blog space to my journey from PC user to Mac addict: the what’s, the why’s, the how’s, etc.  (I still intend to participate in the Daily Post Photo Challenges, as they are far too enjoyable to give up!)  At no point in these posts will I be bashing PC’s – I refuse to become the Mac user stereotype.  It is my opinion of the Mac that has changed, not that of the Windows-based system.

When I was fifteen years old, I decided that I wanted to buy a laptop.  My mother had a Compaq notebook at the time, and offered to sell it to me for $700.  As I had no way of procuring that kind of cash (my family was not big on the allowance thing – you did your chores, or you faced the consequences), I needed to land a decent job.  Thankfully, my sixteenth birthday was only months away, and I knew of an opening for a temporary worker at the Chicago Medical School’s LRC (Learning Resource Center).

My birthday came and went, and a few days after the big day I was a new employee of then Finch University (now called Rosalind Franklin).  I worked the rest of that school year after classes, and took on forty hour weeks during the summer to save up for that computer, meeting my goal just before the beginning of my senior year of high school.  That Compaq saw a lot of use, and lasted me all the way up until the end of that year, when it gave me a holiday gift: the blue screen of death.  For my graduation present, my parents bought me a Compaq desktop, and I used that computer every day up until its untimely death five months before my starting semester at the university.

Out of a computer and armed with a tax refund check, I decided to try my luck at owning an HP laptop.  While this computer did not commit suicide on me, I did start to have problems with it pretty much out of the box.  Within three months of owning it, my DVD drive completely died, forcing me to purchase an external player to use for my classes (I could not return my laptop to HP during the school semester, at least, not if I wanted to pass my classes).  My battery died before the notebook’s first birthday, and the new battery I received from HP was never able to hold as long a charge.  Thankfully, not once did I ever have a problem with the HP’s software; it was only the hardware kept failing on me.  Desperate for a laptop that would last me longer than half a year before breaking down, I decided to follow my father’s advice and purchase a Mac.  I have not had a hardware issue since.  (To be continued…)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cracked minecraft
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 17:31:45

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I want to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances appear to get one thing done.

    Reply

  2. Sara hobbins
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 04:42:31

    Amazingpost, helped with my homework!! God blessfor that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

