Operational Concern…Or Operator Error?

During the time period between the purchase of my Kindle Fire and today, I have had no genuine issues with its performance.  The reviews I have read about the Fire have painted it in a mostly positive light, with very few problems to trouble the user.  (This was another one of the reasons I purchased the Fire over some of the other tablets I looked at – problems resulting in the lack of a product’s efficacy are a definite turn-off for me when looking to purchase said product.)  When conducting my initial research into the Fire, I wanted to see what other users were saying about the Fire: both positive and negative.  The five biggest complaints I found consisted of the following: the power button being in a poor location, the lack of external memory slot, the inability to replace Kindle’s built-in rotating wallpaper, the audio being slightly off on videos streamed through Netflix, and that the Fire was prone to crashing.  I wanted to dedicate this and the next few posts to addressing these “issues”, and parsing out the differences between genuine problems and operator error.

The Kindle Fire is 4.7 inches across, 7.5 inches tall, and 0.45 inches thick – the perfect size for reading, surfing, or watching videos whether you are holding it vertically or horizontally.  The power button is located on the bottom of the Kindle to the right of the charging port, and is the only physical button the tablet features.

The power button is located to the right of the charging port.

Unless the user holds the Fire from the bottom when viewing it via its vertical orientation, there is no feasible way to reach this button.  If you prefer to view the screen from the horizontal orientation, you would still need to place your hand directly on the edge to access the power button.  Curious to test this “issue” out, I tried to “accidentally” power my tablet down – to see just how easy this would be.  It wasn’t.  (In fact, it was quite awkward to hold my Kindle that way – it did not feel at all natural or comfortable.)  While other users may claim the location of the power button to interfere with their usage of the product, I have never experienced the same issue with my Kindle.  Chalk one up to operator error!  (To be continued…)

Leave a Reply

