The Simple Pleasures

If you have not seen the most recent addition to the weekly photo challenge, I highly recommend that you do so.  This week’s post is titled Simple, and features not only a rather lovely picture by the same name, but also a short blog by the photographer herself.  If you have a minute, go take a look!

My photo definition of “simple” this week is an image of one of life’s simple pleasures: a cup of hot chocolate…with marshmallows!

Extra marshmallows, please!

Despite the fact that it is now January, the weather systems over my town have finally decided to get with the program and deliver us our long awaited snow.  I guess three months overdue isn’t too bad – I just wish I could have had a white Christmas (the holidays look rather drab without the covering of snow, and there is only so much outdoor lights and decorations can do to disguise that).  Now when I look out my window, I see over five inches of snow on the ground: every road, tree, and house white-washed and not yet darkened with slush.

There are very few things I enjoy more on a cold and snowy winter’s day than a cup of scalding hot chocolate.  For the first time this season, I can indulge myself and drink to the onset of coming winter storms.  Let others bemoan the possibility of needing to pull out the snow blower again.  Instead, armed with a good pair of gloves and a shovel, my war cry is different: let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Leave a Reply

