The Longevity of Words

Today marks my one month blogging anniversary!  I originally wanted to celebrate by taking a break and only posting a favorite poem of mine, but I found myself thinking about the words to the poem too much to simply end my blog there.

LXXXIX

A WORD is dead
When it is said,
Some say.
I say it just
Begins to live
That day.

— Emily Dickinson

What does speaking a word result in, its death or its birth?  I find myself agreeing with Emily Dickinson in that I believe the moment a word is communicated (be it spoken or written down) it is newly ‘born’, not newly “dead”.  Think about it this way: what I choose to write about in my blog – the words I use – “begin to live” through my writing them down.  The contents of my posts are original, their ‘newness’ constituting a birth of sorts into a ‘new’ medium of expression (from my mind to yours).  Once I publish my blog my words no longer belong solely to me, and can be found growing and evolving (and spreading) with every person that reads them.  My words are alive now, and will continue to live on long after I no longer do.

Leave a Reply

