How Did You Get Down There?

For several weeks I have been having vehicular problems in the form of a dead car battery – an unfortunate side-effect to not driving as often as I used to.  Thankfully, my Jeep started right up after being jumped, and continued to hold a charge after allowing it to run for a half hour or so (I definitely did not want to buy another battery).  As I am really rather fond of driving, missing out on the opportunity to do so for so long a period of time resulted in my looking for any excuse to get back out on the road.  A pressing need to go to the grocery store gave me the opportunity I was looking for, and I was more than happy to hop into my now-working Jeep to make the trip.  After backing out of my driveway, I happened to look down at the street and saw a soccer ball rolling away from my house.  It turns out this same soccer ball had been wedged underneath my Jeep, having been blown there by the wind over a week ago – keeping my then-immobile vehicle company, no doubt.

The perfect companion to any Jeep.

I took a picture of this soccer ball for this week’s photo challenge prompt, titled “Down“.  Of course, taking this picture was no easy feat – my sister’s dog thinks that if there is a spherical object within half a mile of his position, it is automatically his ball to play with.  Wrestling him away from the soccer ball would have been a much easier task had he not such a penchant for jumping and weighed over sixty pounds.  Taking this photo, and subsequently struggling with a “playing” dog, got me thinking about how subjective one’s perception of “down” really is.  After all, I look “down” at my dogs (as I am several feet taller than they are) and they look “up” at me, resulting in a shared, multi-directional gaze.

On a related side note, NASA has been posting pictures taken by members of the ISS (International Space Station) crew and posting them on their website.  It is interesting to consider that an astronaut’s perception of “down” is also our perception of “up” – another representation of this shared, multi-directional gaze.  Take this picture as an example.  I spent several years of my youth living in the Arctic Circle, in a place where viewing the Aurora Borealis was a regular occurrence.  It fascinates me to think that the natural phenomenon that I have seen so many times in the night sky is something someone else must look “down” to see!

Leave a Reply

