My Windows Make Over (Or, Pimp My Virtual Machine) – Part I

(No picture tonight…got to love rainy nights with thick cloud cover.  Mother Nature has a strange sense of timing.  Maybe tomorrow I will be more fortunate?)

Despite the fact that I was a Windows user for so many years, it took me little to no time to adapt and even prefer using the Mac OS X on my MacBook Pro.  When I decided to partition my hard drive and add the Windows OS to my machine, I could not believe the difference one year could make.  Take the touch pad, for example.  To this Mac user, my touch pad is everything.  The fact that most of the functions I had become so accustomed to were now inoperable, not to mention the inconvenience of having to perform a system reboot every time I needed to access Windows, were enough to ensure that I rarely logged on to my Windows partition at all.  Obviously, I needed a better solution.

This solution came to me after having a conversation with my father, another Mac user.  He suggested that I run my Windows OS in a virtual machine instead of straight from the partition.  What is a virtual machine?  “Imagine one computer containing multiple operating systems loaded on a single [computer], each of which functions as a separate OS on a separate physical machine. Virtualization software does just that by creating and managing one or more virtual machines on a single, physical host [computer].  Every virtual machine is a fully functioning virtual computer, where you can install a guest operating system of your choice, with network configuration, and a full suite of [computer] software.” (Source)  In other words, I can run my Windows OS at the same time as my Mac OS, no computer reboot necessary!  The best part of this?  I can now use more of my touchpad functions with Windows, making my Windows experience to be a much more pleasant one!  Decision made, I started to conduct research on the various virtual machines available on the ‘net and find the right fit for me.

For the sake of space, I am breaking this post into three parts.  In tomorrow’s post, I will talk in further detail about virtual machines, giving a few examples and going into the differences between them.  Thursday’s post will be my ‘how to’ post, in which I will explain how I installed VMFusion (my virtual machine of choice) and made it work with my computer.  Until then!

Leave a Reply

