My Windows Make Over (Or, Pimp My Virtual Machine) – Part III

This is the conclusion of my three-part post, “My Windows Make Over (Or, Pimp My Virtual Machine) – Part I & Part II“.  This evening, I will be going over the installation processes I underwent when creating virtual machines for both my Windows and Linux operating systems.  I used different processes for each OS, and want to cover each one for the sake of being thorough.

I partitioned my hard drive and installed Windows on my machine long before I had heard of virtual machines.  The inconvenience involved in the process of accessing either of the two different operating systems spawned my desire to seek out – and eventually find – a better solution to the “Windows problem”.  Instead of deleting Windows from my system and putting it into a virtual machine, I decided to create a VM to open my Boot Camp (Windows) partition inside of my Mac OS.  In other words, when I start-up my Boot Camp VM, my computer pulls my Windows OS from my Boot Camp partition and runs it in my Mac OS partition, only in a separate window.  How do you do this?  After installing Fusion onto your machine, open the application.  If you look towards the bottom of the Fusion window, you will see the following options to select: Create New, Migrate Existing PC, Run Boot Camp, and Learn More.  Click Run Boot Camp.

Click here to run Boot Camp in a virtual machine.

Type in your administrative password into the permissions box that pops up.  Fusion will then automatically create a virtual machine for your partitioned operating system, as well as download the VMware Tools that you will need to use every feature of Windows on your Mac OS.  While this installation is taking place, follow any onscreen instructions given by Fusion, and restart the virtual machine when prompted.  After the VMware Tools have been installed, Fusion will prompt you to restart your virtual machine again.  When you log onto your Windows VM for the first time, you will need to reactive Windows (the computer will remind you).  Congratulations!  You are now running your Windows OS in a virtual machine!

If you do not have Windows already installed on your machine, or if you want to add a different OS to your computer in addition to your Boot Camp VM, you will need to create a brand new virtual machine.  On the bottom of your Fusion window, click the Create New option.

Click here to create a new virtual machine.

You will then be prompted to insert the CD for your operating system of choice into the CD drive, if you have not already done so.  Once your computer recognizes your disk, the New Virtual Machine Assistant program will start.  On the Introduction panel that is shown, ensure that the “Install this operating system” option is selected, and then click Continue.  You will then be prompted for your display name and password, which you will need to enter in (if you are installing Windows, you will need to type in your Windows Product Key, as well as choose how your new virtual machine will handle file sharing).  Click Finish.  Fusion will then create your virtual machine, install VMware Tools, and prompt you to restart your new virtual machine.  Log-in to your new VM, and start using your newly installed OS!

Fusion 4 make the installation and application process involved in creating virtual machines simple.  Creating a VM is as easy as following onscreen prompts and remembering to be patient when the process lasts as long as thirty to forty-five minutes.  Start your free thirty-day trial of Fusion 4 today.  If you are not happy with the product (or virtual machines in general) simply throw it in the trash – thankfully, you will not have wasted any of your money along the way.  Good luck in your endeavors!

(March’s haiku will be up tomorrow!)

Leave a Reply

