Tax Day (AKA, Take The Money and Run!)

I, for one, would have never been able to successfully file my taxes on-time had I lived in the late 1600s.  Every year, I somehow manage to submit my taxes on time, though always last-minute and rarely before April fifteenth.  Thankfully, I have Google calendar to scream the deadline at me when I lose track of my days, and a watch to let me know exactly when late becomes too late.

The Ptolemaic Armillary Sphere - perfect for learning astronomy, not so perfect when used as a calendar.

Had I lived in the 1600s, I might have used a Ptolemaic Armillary Sphere (shown to the right) as a calendar of sorts, and a cheap “sundial” (shown below)

Fun fact: according to this photo, it is 11:30AM. This method of telling time is a great idea if you are looking to save money on an actual sundial - not so great if you live anywhere other than the equator.

to act as my watch: neither containing reminding functions, nor built-in alarms.  Tax day would come and go, with my only reminder of the day’s passing being in the form of an official knocking down my door, demanding a large portion my money (no courteous emails or polite phone calls for me).  Yet another reason to be thankful for mankind’s never-ending thirst for knowledge, and the progress that stems from the obtaining of said knowledge – and alarm apps!

Leave a Reply

