Stuck Together With Peanut Butter

It took me a while to come up with a response to this week’s photo challenge prompt, “Together“.  My first thought was to post a picture of my family eating together.  (Every time we sit down to a meal at the dining room table, my oldest nephew never fails to smile and joyfully point out that we are all eating “togeeeeether” – “together” being one of his new favorite words.)  Unfortunately, my sister would see me drawn and quartered if I posted a picture of her children on the internet (outside of Facebook, that is), successfully killing that idea.

What other possible example could I think of that would represent the word “together”?  Why, the peanut butter and jelly combination, of course.

Almost as good separate as they are together.

While I admit to being a wee bit hungry when I chose to use this image as my challenge response, the more I thought about it – and tried to justify it – the more I liked it.  After all, while an adventurous spirit is always welcome when one is attempting to create new culinary (sandwich) masterpieces, permanently changing such a tried-and-true pairing is simply not done.  Peanut butter and bananas or honey is nice, but peanut butter and jelly belong together.

I retired to my room this evening after my nephew informed me that he “loves me with peanut butter” – the ultimate expression of “I love you”.  Nowadays, peanut butter is more than just a food item in my house; it is a highly sought after term of affection.  PB&J is more than a sandwich: it is the new metaphor for family, for being “togeeeeether”.

Leave a Reply

