Friendships Are Like…

The theme chosen for this week’s photo challenge was ‘friendship’ (the original post “9009” can be viewed here). How do you portray your definition of friendship via picture? What does friendship mean to you?

I have been lucky to have had many friends over the course of my lifetime, and have never had a problem making new ones. This is a handy trait to have as a Navy brat: friendships come and go because your friends come and go, and true long-lasting bonds are few and far between. All of my friendships have been based on a firm sense of camaraderie, and enjoyment over time spent in each others’ presence.

Friendships are like sunsets: warm, bright, and long-lasting. They always make an impression.

The picture I have included with this post was taken somewhat recently on my way home from work. What does this have to do with friendship, you may ask? My answer to that is: only everything.

Living so close to the Arctic Circle (in my case, being stationed in Iceland with my family) means that you are subjected to conditions outside of what you are used to. The winter is cold (as low as negative eighty with wind chill), the summer is mild (never above sixty, and rarely ever that high), and the sun only appears to rise and set once a year (half of the year the sun never sets, and the other half it never rises). To see a sunset was a rare thing, and a sight to be treasured. To this day, I have never lost my love of watching our sun’s cycles, seeing lightning streak across the sky, or “viewing” a summer breeze gently card through a tree branches (both lightning and trees cannot be found in Iceland). I view my friendships much like I do my sunsets: I feel awe at their existence, pleasure at my ability to experience them, and joy at the happiness they bring me. Perhaps seeing a sunset isn’t so rare an experience for me nowadays, but the wonder has yet to fade. Much like a sunset, I will never take the gift of friendship for granted again.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Albadr Nasution
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 04:18:43

    Friendship are like sunshine and that means everything. Great quotes. Nice interpretation of the theme.

    Reply

  2. muhyasir
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 22:21:26

    I Agree… Friendship is everything…

    Reply

  3. The Retiring Sort
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 22:02:55

    Lovely thoughtful post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

