To Be So Close…and Yet So Far

The word of the week is “Close” – or at least it is if you are a follower of the Daily’s Post’s weekly photo challenge. I have been wrestling with this theme all weekend, dismissing each idea for my photo response almost as soon as I thought them up. I finally came up with an answer I was happy with this afternoon while on my lunch break.

The temptation to get closer to all of the cold water was great…and almost could not be ignored.

It was unmercifully hot and humid in Chicagoland today – the kind of weather that inspires worshipful feelings in even the most unbelieving of hearts towards the miracle and saving grace that is centralized air conditioning. While driving my Jeep back to my place of work after my lunch hour, I could not help but notice the many water fountains spread around the parking lots near where work – or ignore just how much I wanted to jump into them.

Every time the wind blew, you could see a miniature rainbow form out of the water. (If you look closely on the right side of the fountain, you can see the tail-end of one.)

The freezing cold waters of each man-made pond called out to me in siren-like tones, inviting me to come closer and closer. The cascading water was hypnotic to look at…and tempting to swim in. It was the one thing I wanted to be close to, and couldn’t be further away from.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Albadr Nasution
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 03:23:55

    Yeah, i can see the rainbow. In the fountain like that near my campus, i see it a lot. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Reply

  2. The Retiring Sort
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:18:56

    LOL – sounds like you successfully avoided temptation – stay cool! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

